Ski Patrol Celebrates Season


The 49 Degrees North Ski Patrol & Mountain Hosts held their annual awards banquet on March 30, at the resort’s Calispell Creek Lodge. The evening allowed over a hundred employees to celebrate everyone’s contribution to the safety and education of the skiing and boarding public, as well as some special and specific individual awards.

The banquet theme was Beach Party, Luau and fun contests included “the limbo” and best Hawaiian clothing. During a break in the music and laughter, the evening began with an update from Resort Owner John Eminger. He gave an overview of this season, and spoke of things to come, including the new Mid- Mountain Lodge anticipated during the summer of 2014.

Patrol officers were elected and announced. Members who were reelected to the Board are Danial Baker from Chewelah as Volunteer Director, Eric Zawadzki from Colville as Hill Captain, and Ron Tilley from Nine Mile Falls as Member at Large. Continuing board members include Cynthia Capello as Secretary, Walt Seidel as Treasurer, Kim Bailey as Member at Large, Josh Westerman as Member at Large, Steve Pietroburgo as Hill Captain, and Gary Deaver as ex officio.

Patrollers and Mountain Hosts were recognized with the following awards:

Candidate Patroller of the Year – David DeVeau (Chewelah)

First Year Patroller of the Year – Jim Kiefer (Chewelah)

Student Patroller of the Year – Cody Peters

Pro – Patroller of the Year – Dean Fischer (Colville)

Alpine Patroller of the Year – William Lee (Cusick)

Instructor of the Year – Steve Coulston 

Outdoor Emergency Care Instructor of the Year – Kay Seidel

Auxiliary Patroller of the Year – Walt Seidel

Bent Shaft Award (for an injury while patrolling) – Ben Salapka (Chewelah)

Mountain Host of the Year – Chuck Kriegh

Another highlight was the distribution of the Service Recognitions Awards. Gary Deaver, Ron Henry, and Mark Serbousek were recognized for 30 years of service. Lori Serbousek was recognized for 25 years of service. Danial Baker, Joe Petrin, and John Huffstutter received awards for 20 years of service. Craig & Sarah Newman had 15 years of service. Stephan Coulston, Phillip Dawson, Kelli Piper, Gregory Smith, and Jill Smith received awards for 10 years of service. Kim Bailey, Daniel and Marianne Becker, Barney Brown, Cynthia and James Cappello, Todd Hays, William Lee, Biagio and Stephen Pietroburgo, Walter Seidel, and Paul Vierra were awarded for 5 years of service. The total years of service to the skiing and boarding public by these 26 patrollers was 315 years!

By Sue Baker

49 Degrees North Ski Patrol

In This Photo: Chewelah’s Jim Kiefer (center), recognized as the First Year Patroller of the Year, stands with Volunteer Director Danial Baker (left) and Patrol Director Gary Deaver.