Saving the Best for Last

The Chewelah Community Float was awarded the Lilac Sweepstakes Award (Best Community Float) at the 2012 74th Annual Lilac Festival Armed Forces Torchlight Parade on March 19. Both the float and the Jenkins High School Marching Band were near the end of the evening parade but that did not keep Chewelah from receiving the top award of the night. The Distinguished Young Women representatives, Mallorie Powell, Atasha Edwards and Daniele Bradley were escorted by Colter Garcia, Alex Bell-Towne, Russell Smith, and Brandon Smith.

Geri Trudeau photo